Security Groups

Security Groups relate to the access permissions that are granted to each CMap user account (e.g. which parts of the system they can view, edit and update). Managing and regularly reviewing Security Groups is really important to ensure that users continue to have appropriate access to CMap aligned to their role.

In this article, you'll learn about:

  • Default Security Groups
  • Creating a new Security Group
  • Setting security permissions

Default Security Groups

During your onboarding project with CMap, there will be six default Security Groups set up for you.

Security Group

Description

Full Access

Full access to all aspects of CMap.

Principal/Director

Majority access within the system minus a few financial and admin aspects.

Finance

Full access to finance related options with read only visibility for the rest of the system.

Project Managers

Full access to own projects with visibility to relevant areas of the system.

CRM

Relevant access to information key to maintaining client relations.

Project Worker

Read only access to projects with timesheet and expenses access.

Create a new Security Group

  1. To access your Security Groups, from your Dashboard, head to CMap's Admin area by clicking on the  icon, found on the right-hand side of the page.
  2. Under the heading USERS & SECURITY, click Security Groups
  3. At the bottom of the table, there are two text fields. Enter a Name and a Description and then click Add

    CMap will then automatically open the relevant Security Group screen where you are able to set up the permissions for the Security Group.

    Set security permissions

    You can set permissions for each CMap module for each Security Group. Permissions are set for three categories:

    • Access Levels: Controls the areas of CMap that the users can access and the levels of access.
    • Pages: Controls the permissions for each Custom Page created in CMap.
    • Reports: Controls the reports available within the Reports Module.
    • Dashboards: Controls the Dashboards that can be added to a User's Dashboard.

    Leaving a module unchecked will not permit access to any area of the module. If you do check a module, then CMap will reveal the elements that have specific permissions.

    They are applied in one of three ways:

    Access Level

    Description

    Options

    On/Off

    All-or-nothing permissions, applied using a simple checkbox.

    Checked: On (users have access)

    Unchecked: Off (users don't have access)

    Granular Controls

    Controls the level or access/control users have to that area, applied using drop-down lists.

    No Access: Users are prevented from accessing the area.

    Read Only: Users can view information, but cannot make any changes.

    Edit: Users can make edits to existing information, but cannot create or delete.

    Full Control: Users can add, edit and delete information.

    Local or Full Control

    Limits the extent to which users can access/edit the system,  applied using drop-down lists.

    No Access: Users are prevented from accessing the area.

    Local Control: Users are able to make edits, but only to their default office.

    Full Control: Users are able to make edits across all offices.

    Project permissions are also further separated by My Projects and Other Projects. My Projects relates to any projects where a User has been allocated as Project Owner, Project Manager or Co-pilot. Other Projects relates to any projects owned by other users.

    Learn More:
    Want to learn more... here's the full article on Setting up Security Groups.  

Updated

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request