Close a Project (PSA)

Once a project has been completed in CMap, it is ready to be Closed. This is an important step as it will enable accurate reporting on live and closed projects, enable reporting and dashboards to focus on live projects, where relevant, and prevent users from being able to book additional time to the project. There are a few steps to complete when closing a project that will be outlined in this article.
 

In this article, you’ll learn how to:

  • Set progress sliders to 100%
  • Raise all Invoices
  • Write Off/Up Outstanding WIP
  • Close a Project

Set progress sliders to 100%

1. Go to the Project's Budget vs Actual page.

2. Scroll down to the Budget vs. Actual Breakdown table.

3. Under the Progress column, click one of the percentage value links.

mceclip0.png

4. The Percentage Complete pop-up will appear, allowing you to set the sliders to 100%. Click into the slider and drag it across to the right to set it to 100. Alternatively, you can type directly into the value text box.

mceclip1.png

Raise all Invoices

CMap requires you to create all invoices for the project before it can be closed. Head to the Project’s Invoicing page to ensure the Total Budget and Total Invoiced values match.

mceclip2.png

If the Total Budget and Total Invoiced values will not match, you will need to add an adjustment to the Fee Estimator.

Write Off/Up Outstanding WIP

Provided the previous two criteria have been met, if there is outstanding WIP on the project you will see the following prompt:

mceclip3.png

If a write up is required, you'd instead see a Write Up Required prompt.

This prompt enables you to do an automatic Write-Off/Up to handle the outstanding WIP and close the project.

Click Continue to proceed, automatically write-off/up the WIP, and close the project.

  • For Fixed Fee Projects, a simple WIP write-off/up will be created
  • For Resourced/Pure Time & Materials projects, a detailed WIP write-off/up will be created

Close a Project

1. On your Dashboard, head to the Projects tab and click Live Projects. Click into the Project No-Title of the project you would like to close. You will be taken to the Project Details page.

2. Click the Actions menu on the right-hand side of the page and click Close Project.

mceclip4.png

3. A pop-up box will appear asking you to confirm that you would like to close the project. Click Yes.

Once a project is closed, users can still search for it should they need to copy the project in the future.

Hey presto! You should now be able to close a project in CMap, so that you can review how successful and profitable the project was. Projects can be reopened in the Admin area. 

Want to learn more... here's an article on Re-opening Projects. 

Updated

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request